Dissident Cong leaders, workers join BJD

Bhubaneswar,November 21: In an utter embarrassment for the State Congress, a group of local party leaders and workers from Salepur block in Cuttack district joined the ruling Biju Janata Dal on Saturday while the 'Jan Jagaran Yatra' of the grand old party was underway in the same area.

About hundred dissident Congress workers including ex-sarpanch Akshaya Mallick, Youth Congress president Biswanath Samant, Anadi Charan Sethi, Dhirendra Mallick, Prafulla Chandra Samal, Mohn Hussain, Soudamini Behera, Asaf Ali Khan, Mirza Moin-ud-Din, SK Rajat, Jagannath Sethi, Sumant Kumar Jena, led by Salepur Block Congress President Bikash Behera and accompanied by BJD leader Pratap Jena arrived at the Naveen Niwas in Bhubaneswar and formally joined the BJD in presence of the party supremo and chief minister Naveen Patnaik.

On the other hand, the Congress began its third-phase Jan Jagaran Yatra from Manoharpur in Selapur block.

As per the schedule, the Yatra would culminate at Salepur block where the party will address a public meeting.

Several senior leaders including AICC secretary and Odisha–in-charge BK Hariprasad, PCC president Prasad Harichandan, Ranjib Biswal, Cuttack City Congress President Mohd Moquim are participating in the Yatra.

President arrives in Puri, to visit Jagannath Temple tomorrow morning

Puri: President Ram Nath Kovind arrived in Puri today afternoon. Security has been tightened in Puri town for the President.He was received by Union M...

Indian legal system has a reputation for being expensive and prone to delays: Prez

Cuttack: President Ram Nath Kovind today said that the Indian legal system has a reputation for being expensive and prone to delays.'The use and abuse...

Not only Odisha, but the entire country is proud of Biju Patnaik: Kovind

Cuttack: President Ram Nath Kovind today hailed Biju Patnaik's role in India's freedom struggle and said that not only Odisha, but the entire country ...

Judicial panel submits report on Gumudumaha firing

Bhubaneswar: The Justice Janab Mohammed Ajmal Commission of Inquiry, who probed the firing at Gumudumaha village in Kandhamal district, today submitte...