Odisha Legislative Assembly Issues Notification for RS by-poll

Bhubaneswar:26;  Odisha Legislative Assembly today issued notification for the by-election to the lone Rajya Sabha seat remaining vacant after A U Singhdeo failed to join the Upper House of the Parliament.

The Secretary of the Odisha Legislative Assembly Amiya Kumar Sarangi, who is also the Returning Officer, said nominations for the Rajya Sabha polls began today.

The candidates can file their papers till June 9 while scrutiny of nominations will be held on June 10. Candidates can withdraw their nomination papers by 3 PM on June 12, the notification said.

Polling will be held on June 19 between 9 AM and 4 PM in the Odisha Legislative Assembly premises while votes will be counted from 5 PM onwards the same day, the notification said. 

By-poll: BJD topples BJP in Baleswar ZP seat

Baleswar: In the by-election for the Baleswar Zilla Parishad Zone-26 member post held on Friday, the BJD registered an impressive victory trouncing it...

Phulbani still coldest place in Odisha

Phulbani in Kandahmal district continued to remain as the coldest place in Odisha with the mercury level remaining at 3.5 degrees Celsius on Saturday....

12 commercial high-rises fail fire-safety tests in Cuttack

Cuttack: After inspecting fire safety measures at shopping malls and hotels in Puri, Bhubaneswar and other major towns in the State, the Fire Services...

DGP unveils Prevent cyber crime fraud booklet, felicitates 24 cops

Bhubaneswar: Director General of Police (DGP) Dr RP Sharma on Saturday released a booklet containing guidelines and advisories to bring public awarene...