Odisha RS By-Poll: Returning Officer Rejects Independent Candidate's Nominaion

Bhubaneswar; Dec.4: Two candidates had filed nomination papers for the ensuing Rajya Sabha by-poll, the Odisha Assembly Returning Officer on Friday informed that one nomination has been rejected.

The rejected nomination paper is of one Ganeshwar Mishra's, an independent candidate.

On Thursday, BJD's Narendra Swain, flanked by BJD supremo and Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, filed his two sets of nomination papers.

Later on the same day, one Odisha citizen, identified as Ganeshwar Mishra, had also filed his nomination paper.

However,independent candidate Ganeshwar Mishra's nomination has been rejected by the Returning Officer as it carries no name and signature of any proposer as per the norms. 

Following the rejection, BJD's Narendra Swain is now the lone candidate in the race.

Odisha to set up Capital Region Transport Service

Bhubaneswar: Odisha government on Saturday decided to set up Capital Region TransportService (CRTS) to provide bus service to people in Cuttack, Bhuba...

By-poll: BJD topples BJP in Baleswar ZP seat

Baleswar: In the by-election for the Baleswar Zilla Parishad Zone-26 member post held on Friday, the BJD registered an impressive victory trouncing it...

Phulbani still coldest place in Odisha

Phulbani in Kandahmal district continued to remain as the coldest place in Odisha with the mercury level remaining at 3.5 degrees Celsius on Saturday....

12 commercial high-rises fail fire-safety tests in Cuttack

Cuttack: After inspecting fire safety measures at shopping malls and hotels in Puri, Bhubaneswar and other major towns in the State, the Fire Services...