Australia Captain Steve Smith Sweeps ICC Awards No Indian Among Winners

Dubai; Dec.23: Australia Captain Steve Smith was named ICC Cricketer of the Year for 2015 on Wednesday after scoring a world leading 1,734 runs at an average of 82.57 with seven centuries over the voting period which ran from 18 September 2014 to 13 September 2015. 

The 26-year-old right-hander kept the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy in Australia for the third straight year after pace bowler Mitchell Johnson and his predecessor as skipper, Michael Clarke, won in 2014 and 2013. 

Earlier this month, Smith was also named in the ICC Test and ODI Teams of the Year.

A delighted Smith said, "I will look back on 2015 with mixed feelings. Winning the ICC Cricket World Cup at home was a career highlight, and being appointed captain is a great honour, but the disappointment of losing the Ashes remains.To be the best team that we can be, we have to become better at winning away from home, and that remains our motivation heading into 2016."

South Africa's ODI captain AB de Villiers has been named as the ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year for the second successive year, while his teammate and T20 captain Faf du Plessis has won the ICC T20I Performance of the Year award for his 56-ball 119 against the West Indies in the second T20I in Johannesburg on 11 January 2015.

Awards list

ICC Cricketer of the Year (Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy) - Steven Smith
Test Cricketer of the Year - Steven Smith
ODI Cricketer of the Year - AB de Villiers
Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year - Meg Lanning
Women's T20I Cricketer of the Year - Stafanie Taylor
T20I Performance of the Year - Faf du Plessis
Emerging Cricketer of the Year - Josh Hazlewood
Associate/Affiliate Cricketer of the Year - Khurram Khan
Spirit of Cricket Award - Brendon McCullum
Umpire of the Year (David Shepherd Trophy)- Richard Kettleborough 

Dhananjaya de Silva withdraws from Windies tour post father's murder

Colombo  : Sri Lanka batsman Dhananjaya de Silva has pulled out of his side's tour to West Indies after his father was shot dead by an unidentifi...

Dutee Chand Expresses Dissatisfaction Over Allotment Of Residential Plot

Bhubaneswar: International Odia athlete and Olympian Dutee Chand on Tuesday criticised the Odisha government for not keeping its promise of allotting ...

Bowlers were fantastic; fell short with bat: Williamson on Qualifier 1 defeat

Mumbai: Reacting to Sunrisers Hyderabad's (SRH) loss to Chennai Super Kings by two wickets in the first Qualifier on Tuesday, skipper Kane Williamson ...

CSK, SRH out to avoid Kolkata detour

It might be the battle between the top two teams of Indian Premier League 2018, but Qualifier 1 from Mumbai has a weird little twist. Both Sunrisers H...