Congress wins 13 seats in Karnataka LC polls


Bengaluru, Dec 31: In a biennial elections for 25 seats of Karnataka Legislative Council from local authorities constituencies, Congress has managed to win 13 seats leaving behind BJP and JD(S).
BJP has bagged 6 seats, JD(S) 4 and others 2 in the elections held on Sunday to fill the vacancies as the term of office of 25 members from local authorities' constituencies is due to expire on January 5.

The poll results can be seen as advantage for the ruling Congress that was hoping to boost its strength in the Upper House. Congress is lacking numbers in the 75-member Council because of which it has often faced piquant situations with BJP and JDS joining hands on certain issues.

More Articles