Leader of Opposition, 4 ministers occupay more than 1 quarter

Leader of Opposition and four ministers are among 16 law-makers who are occupying more than one govenrment quarter in Bhubaneswar while seven MLAs could not be allotted houses.

This was revealed by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik while replying to a question in the Assembly.

While Leader of Opposition Narasingha Mishra of Congress has been in occupation of big bunglow in Unit-1 area, he too has been allotted a quarter in MLA Colony.

Similarly, Congress Chief Whip Taraprasad Bahinipati has been in occupation of two quarters, Patnaik said in the reply adding that the govenrment chief whip Ananta Das too has two state accommodations.

The ministers who have more than one government quarters are: Ashok Chandra Panda, Bikram Keshari Arukha, Jogendra Behera and Pradeep Kumar Panigrahi. Deputy Speaker Sananda Marndi also is in occupation of two government quarters, the chief minister said.

The MLAs who are possessing two government quarters are: Bhujabal Majhi, Prafulla Majhi, Subal Sahu (Cong), Maheswar Mohanty, Nrushingha Ch Sahu, Subrat Tarai, Ramesh Patua (BJD) and Rabinarayan Naik (BJP).

The former ministers against whom cases have been initiated on charge of unauthorised occupation of government quarters are: Surendranath Nayak, Sarojini Hembram (Now MP RS), Anjali Behera, Pradeepta Kumar Nayak and Ex MLAs have been identified as Alekh Kumar Jena, Ramachandra Hansda (now LS MP), Rabi Mallick, Rajendra Dholkia and Pratap Chandra Sarangi.

Source times of India

IAF plane crashes in Mayurbhanj

Baripada: An Indian Air Force (IAF) plane crashed Tuesday in Odisha's Mayurbhanj district near the Jharhkhand border.The pilot of the IAF plane is rep...

Bihar Governor given additional charge of Odisha

Bhubaneswar: President Ram Nath Kovind has directed Bihar Governor Satya Pal Malik to discharge functions of Governor of Odisha, in addition to his ow...

Odisha celebrates Pakhala Divas to welcome summers

Bhubaneswar: Denizens of Bhubaneswar savoured Pakhala, a traditional Odia dish, on Tuesday in order to welcome the summers. Pertinently, March 20 is b...

Congress boycotts Guv speech, stages walk out in Assembly

Bhubaneswar: Governor Dr SC Jamir today made his address to the State Assembly on the last day of his tenure even as the main opposition Congress walk...