West Indies is T20 champion again!


Sunday night here at the Eden Gardens turned surreal for the 49,818 fans, who embraced Darren Sammy's men as one of their own and found ecstasy in a last over of pulsating thrills. The West Indies, known for its hoary past and still gifting nostalgia's warmth, won the ICC World Twenty20 title.

Marlon Samuels (85 not out, 66b, 9x4, 2x6) anchored the chase and Carlos Brathwaite (34 not out) mocked the 19 runs required from the final six deliveries. The burly Brathwaite's riposte — 6,6,6 and 6 — stunned England and forced a hapless Ben Stokes on to his haunches. (Read: Brathwaite hails sensational Samuels)

The West Indies won by four wickets, scoring 161 for six in 19.4 overs while chasing Engand's 155 for nine. In racing towards the victor's podium, the West Indies became the only squad so far to win the ICC World Twenty20 title twice, having secured it last in 2012.

More Articles