Non-payment to associate members is not our fault: BCCI


Members of the Indian cricket board (BCCI) were left disappointed on Tuesday afternoon when the two-judge bench at the Supreme Court, comprising Chief Justice TS Thakur and Justice Ibrahim Kalifulla, criticised the BCCI's methods of disbursing funds to state associations. In a hearing that lasted close to an hour-and-a-half, the apex court said BCCI was disbursing funds to state associations without any particular mechanism, and pointed out 11 associations which were yet to receive any funding.

The 11 member associations listed out by the court are the Cricket Club of India, Railway Sports Promotion Board, Services Sports Control Board, National Cricket Club (Kolkata), Arunachal Pradesh Cricket Association, Meghalaya Cricket Association, Chhattisgarh State Cricket Sangh, Manipur Cricket Association, Nagaland Cricket Association, Bihar Cricket Association and the Jammu and Kashmir Association.

TOI spoke to some BCCI officials who appeared shocked at the SC's viewpoint. Among other things, they pointed out that the Cricket Club of India in Mumbai and the National Cricket Club in Kolkata happen to be only voting members and do not play any role in the BCCI's domestic circuit.

Source TOI

More Articles