Cops name 5 Maoists in Koraput blast


KORAPUT: Five hardcore Maoists were allegedly involved in the landmine blast near Sunki in Koraput district on February 1, according to the police. Eight policemen were killed and five seriously injured in the blast.
In a complaint filed at Pottangi police station, the police have named Maoist leader Suresh, Malesh, Andru, Ranjit and Aruna of the Andhra-Odisha Border Special Zonal Committee (AOBSZC) of the CPI (Maoist) for their role in the blast.

Suresh heads the Maoists group in Pottangi and Nandapur, which shares boundary with Andhra Pradesh. Police said the offensive was executed at his behest. "The five Maoist leaders are in our wanted list for their involvement in several offensives," said a senior police officer posted in Koraput.

On Wednesday, the crime branch, which is also probing the case, submitted the list of items seized from the spot before the sub-divisional judicial magistrate, Koraput, along with a copy of a complaint filed by the police at the Pottangi police station.
"The crime branch had sought permission from the court for forensic test of the seized items," said public prosecutor P K Padhi.
source TOI

More Articles