Sunrisers take on RCB in IPL 2017 opener on April 5


NEW DELHI: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Wednesday announced the fixtures of the upcoming Indian Premier League 2017 season with the opening match scheduled to be held at the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Hyderabad on April 5.

Defending champions Sunrisers Hyderabad will play last year's runners-up Royal Challengers Bangalore in the opening game of the 2017 season.

The tournament will be spread over 47 days across 10 venues. The schedule has been designed with each team playing 14 matches - 7 of them at home venues.
The season will also witness IPL returning to Indore for the first time since 2011. The final will be played at Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium on May 21.

Among the other teams, Rising Pune Supergiants will take on Mumbai Indians on April 6 in Pune. Shah Rukh Khan co-owned Kolkata Knight Riders will take on Gujarat Lions on April 7 in their opening game at Rajkot.

Delhi Daredevils will take on RCB in Bengaluru on April 8 in their lung opener. On the same day, perennial underachievers Kings XI Punjab hosts Rising Supergiants for their first match in the cash-rich tourney at their second home in Indore.

More Articles