Panchayat Polls: BJD Emerges Winner, BJP Continues To Make Inroads

Bhubaneswar: In line with the trend observed in the results of the first phase of the 3-tier panchayat polls in State, BJPís performance has made many to sit up and take notice as the saffron party went on to claim 55 Zilla Parishad (ZP) zones in 166 out of 174 zones which went for polling in the second phase which concluded today.

The ruling BJD emerged as winner by claiming 92 ZP zones and was closely followed by BJP. Congressí dismal performance continued as it was only able to win 15 ZP zones. Four zones were claimed by the Independent candidates.

Continuing its good run in Kalahandi district in the second phase, BJP again made a clean sweep by claiming all the 9 ZP zones where polls were conducted in the second phase. In the first phase BJP had also claimed all the 9 zones. Out of the total 36 zones in Kalahandi, BJP has claimed 18 zones so far.

The Congress, whose performance has been poor so far claimed the Jharsuguda ZP zone after winning all the 3 zones which went for polls in the second phase. In the first phase, Congress emerged winner in 2 zones. Out of the total 9 ZP zones in Jharsuguda, Congress has now won 5.

The ruling BJD was able to claim the ZP in Boudh district after winning in 2 zones out of three in the second phase of polling by taking its tally to 5 zones out of total 9 in the district.

BJD made a clean sweep in Balasore by claiming all the 8 ZP zones where polls were conducted in the second phase.

Elsewhere, in Bolangir, out of the 7 ZP zones where polls were conducted today, BJP emerged winner in 4 while 2 zones went to BJD. Congress is yet to open its account in the district after 2 phases of polling.

In Malkangiri, out of the 3 zones, BJP won 2 while Congress claimed 1. In Sonepur, out of the 3 zones, BJD emerged winner in 2 while the other zone went to BJP. In Nayagarh, BJP claimed 3 zones and 1 went to BJD out of the 4 zones where polls were conducted. In Nuapara, out of the 3 zones, BJD won 2 while 1 zone went to Congressí account. In Khurda district, BJD claimed 5 out of 6 ZP zones while BJP won 1 zone. In Mayurbhanj, out to the 12 zones where polls were conducted, 10 went to BJP while 1 each was claimed by BJD and independent candidate. In Koraput, BJD and Congress claimed 4 and 2 zones respectively out of the total 6 zones.

Four MLAs skip crucial Congress Legislature Party meeting

Bhubaneswar: At least four out of the 15 Congress MLAs abstained from crucial Congress Legislature Party (CLP) meeting called by Leader of Opposition ...

NPP president Conrad Sangma sworn in as 12th Meghalaya CM

Shillong: National People's Party president Conrad Sangma was today sworn in as Meghalaya chief minister by Governor Ganga Prasad here.The governor al...

BJP claim to come to power in Odisha a daydream: Maharathy

Bhubaneswar: Hours after senior saffron party leader and Union Tribal Affairs Minister Jual Oram asserted that his party will dethrone Naveen Patnaik ...

BJP To Introspect On Defeat In Bijepur Bypoll

Bhubaneswar: Conceding defeat in the Bijepur by-poll, Union minister Dharmendra Pradhan on Wednesday accepted the people's mandate and said his party ...