President Mukherjee Presents Visitor's Awards for 'Best University', 'Research' & 'Innovation'


President of India, Pranab Mukherjee presented the Visitor's Awards for the year 2017 on March 6, 2017. A Festival of Innovation has been taking place at the Rashtrapati Bhavan for the past three days and the event concluded with the presentation of the Visitor's Awards.
On this occasion, President presented the Visitor's Award for the 'Best University' to Jawaharlal Nehru University. Secondly, the Visitor's Award for 'Innovation' was presented to Dr. Deepak Pant of the Central University of Himachal Pradesh. Thirdly, the Visitor's Award for 'Research' was presented to Prof. Niranjan Karak, Tezpur University and Dr. Shyam Sunder, Institute of Medical Sciences, Banaras Hindu University (BHU).
Dr. Deepak Pant received the Visitor's Award for 'Innovation' for his significant contribution in developing a reactor for direct conversion of plastic waste to LPG. On the other hand, Dr. Shyam Sunder received Visitor's Award in 'Research' for his significant contribution in the area of treatment of diagnosis of Indian Kala-azar. Similarly, Prof. Niranjan Karak received the award for his contribution to the development of biocompatible smart sustainable futuristic material.
On this occasion, President of India Pranab Mukherjee addressed the gathering. He indicated that the areas of research must align with the developmental challenges of the country. Experienced and skilled professors from various universities need to work on figuring out solutions to the various problems in urban transportation, sanitation, sewage disposal, healthcare and clean river system. These professors need to convert their knowledge into innovative products that are beneficial to the society.

More Articles