Govt for Constitutional Status to Backward Classes Commission, Parties fear Exclusion


In the first indication of political realignment after the UP polls, the Mandal Parties in Rajya Sabha joined hands to question the proposed constitutional amendment to provide constitutional status to the National Commission for the Backward Classes.

The Union Cabinet last week approved the changes in the statute, and government is all set to follow it up with the introduction of the bill this week itself.

In the Rajya Sabha on Tuesday, SP leader Prof Ram Gopal Yadav, while raising the issue, alleged that the government move may be intended to "nullify all castes notified by the Mandal commission" and they will be replaced by new castes.

"We know which all communities are being targeted to be excluded," alleged Yadav.
The SP general secretary in his submission was supported by BSP leader Mayawati. She sought to know from the government the reason for delay caused in appointment of the chairman for SC, ST and Minorities Commission.

After the zero hour, JDU leader Sharad Yadav joined the chorus as he gave details of what he called under representation of SC, ST and OBCs in top educational institutions including IITs , Delhi University and JNU.

Intervening in the debate from the government side, Information and Broadcasting Minister Venkaiah Naidu refuted allegations by SP, BSP and JDU leaders.
"The people have rejected them in the elections. They want to misuse the forum of the house," Naidu said.

The proposed legislation aims at giving powers to the Parliament to include or exclude castes from the central OBC list and will vest powers of a civil court on the BC commission to issue summons like SC and ST commissions.

More Articles