With an eye on anti-BJP alliance, Mayawati plans to recast BSP

National president and former Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Mayawati's decision to contest the urban local bodies' polls in UP on her party's symbol indicates her intention to make the organisational structure of her party ready for alliance politics.

Within a week of dropping hints that Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) is open to joining an anti-BJP alliance in future, she has reportedly introduced changes in the party's structure. Unlike in the past when more than 10 zones existed within the party organisation, BSP will have now only two zones, and each will accommodate nine divisions.

The party has now placed eight coordinators in each of the two zones to handle BSP's affairs.
Although there's no official word on the changes introduced in the party organisation, BSP sources said the divisions, including Lucknow, Aligarh, Meerut, Saharanpur, Moradabad, Bareilly, Chitrakoot and Jhansi, are placed under the Zone One. Eight coordinators, including Rajya Sabha member Ashok Siddartha, Naushad Ali and RS Kushwaha, will work in this zone. "Zone Two" has nine divisions --Kanpur, Allahabad, Varanasi, Faizabad, Basti, Mirzapur, Devipatan, Azamgarh and Gorakhpur. BSP has deployed its eight coordinators, including Ramachal Rajbhar, Lalji Verma and Munkad Ali, in this zone.

Apparently, the party has reduced the role of its prominent Muslim face and former minister Naseemuddin Siddiqui in UP under the new arrangement. Sources said Siddiqui will be handling the party's affairs in Madhya Pradesh and Chhatisgarh.

"He will have his role in the party's affairs in Lucknow division, and would also be a part of the party delegation which is supposed to meet the CM for proper management of the memorials built during the BSP regime," a source in the BSP said.

Pak troops violate ceasefire along LoC in Uri sector

Srinagar: Pakistani troops violated ceasefire along the Line of Control (LoC) in Uri sector of Jammu and Kashmir, injuring three civilians, police sai...

How Did the Punjab National Bank Scam Go Undetected: Govt Asks RBI

New Delhi: The central government has written to the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) flagging doubts over supervisory lapses in the scam. "How did the fra...

PNB Scam: Central Vigilance Commissioner to Meet Bank CEO

New Delhi: Central Vigilance Commissioner KV Chowdhary will meet scam-hit Punjab National Bank's (PNB) Chief Executive Officer Sunil Mehta and the Chi...

PM Modi inaugurates new BJP HQ

New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi, in the presence of top party leaders including Amit Shah, inaugurated the new BJP headquarters in Delhi's Dee...