Odisha to open 13 new primary health centres

Bhubaneswar, Oct 18: Odisha government on Tuesday decided to open 13 new Public Health Centres, (PHCs), upgrade five 5 PHC to Community Health Centres (CHC) and to provide health care facilities available in Sub Divisional hospitals in six CHCs with an objective to provide better health care to the people. 

State Health and Family Welfare Minister Pratap Jena said the new PHCs would be opened at Dakhinabandha, Kinjabiharipur, Singhpur in Jajpur district, Belgagar in Nabaangpur district, MaharaJpur, Ranasahi, Jayrampur in Balasore, Jamkhunta, Budha Bahal in Bolangir, Barida, Sunathara, Hugulapata in Ganjam and at mahalinga in Kalahandi district. 

The Minister said necessary infrastructure would be developed and human resources would be provided to the new PHCs to make them operational soon. Mr Jena said the PHC at Gaisilata in Baragarha district, Golamunda in Kalahandi, Redhua and Borikina in Jagatsinghpur and the Jaganathpur PHC in Cuttack district would be upgraded to CHC. 

A decision has also been taken to provide medical facilities available in Sub-Divisional hospitals at the Pattamundai CHC in Kendrapara, Umerkote in Nabarangpur, Chitrakonda and Maithili in Malkangiri, Khariar in Nuapada and at Aska CHC in Ganjam district, the 
Minister said. 

He said considering the requirement a decision has been taken to increase the number of beds in the Kotapada CHC in Koraput district to 30. 

Utkal University postpones Plus III 4th semester exam

Bhubaneswar: In view of heavy rainfall across the state, the authorities of Utkal University (UU) today postponed the Plus III 4th semester examinatio...

List of trains controlled, cancelled, short terminated due to heavy rainfall in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: In view of heavy rain in coastal area, some of the trains were en-routed for water-logging at Khurda Road Railway station, Bhubaneswar Ra...

Heavy Rain Brings Odisha To Halt; Normal Life Hit In Twin City

Bhubaneswar: Incessant rainfall over the last 24 hours due to the low-pressure over the Bay of Bengal has thrown normal life out of gear in several pa...

Thunderstorm Alert For 19 Districts; Flood Situation Likely In Odisha

Bhubaneswar: The Regional Meteorological Centre Saturday issued heavy rain and thunderstorm alert for 19 districts in Odisha.The thunderstorm alert ha...