Guj elections: BJP, Congress to meet in Delhi to finalise candidates today

New Delhi:  As the Gujarat elections are around the corner, both Bhartiya Janata Party and Congress are all set to finalise their candidates for the upcoming polls on Wednesday.

The BJP's central election committee is all set to meet in presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and party president Amit Shah in Delhi.

Senior BJP leaders from Gujarat will leave for Delhi on Wednesday to discuss the names of the candidates for the upcoming polls with the top leadership.

Gujarat Chief Minister Vijay Rupani, Deputy Chief Minister Nitin Patel, BJP state president Jitu Vaghani, former chief minister Anandiben Patel and other senior leaders are expected to discuss the list of prospective candidates with the central leadership.

On the other hand, Congress parliamentary board is also meeting on Wednesday to decide on candidates for Gujarat polls.

PCC chief BharatSingh Solanki and party in charge Ashok Gehlot has already arrived in Delhi.

Assembly elections in Gujarat will be held in two phases on December 9 and 14. The votes will be counted on December 18.

First phase poll to take place in 89 constituencies on December 9 and second phase will take place in 93 constituencies.

Model code of conduct has already been enforced in the state.

BJD complains to CEO alleging misuse of power by Dharmendra Pradhan

Bhubaneswar: The ruling BJD today moved the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) against senior BJP leader and Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan accusing him...

BJP activists detained for gheraoing CM's grievance cell

Bhubaneswar: Around 30 BJP workers were detained by Commissionerate police while trying to barge into the Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik's grievance ce...

BJP State Farmers wing chief joins BJD

Bhubaneswar: In a major jolt to BJP ahead of the by-poll for the Bijepur assembly segment, senior party leader and party State Farmers' Wing president...

Bijepur by-poll: BJP moves CEO against Padmapur SDPO

Bhubaneswar: BJP today urged the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) here to take stringent action against Padmapur Sub-Divisional Police Officer (SDPO) Lax...