Heavy rains lash Odisha, Puri records highest rainfall

Bhubaneswar: The highest rainfall of 12.0 mm was recorded in Puri today even as the IMD warned of heavy to very heavy rainfall, under influence of a well marked low pressure over west central and adjoining southwest Bay of Bengal in southern and coastal Odisha within next 24 hours.

Puri is followed by 11.0 mm in Ganjam, 10.6 mm in Nayagarh, 9.4 mm in Khurda, 7.1 mm in Jagatsinghpur, 6.7 mm in Jajpur, 6.1 mm in Bhadrak, 4.8 mm in Kendrapara, 3.8 mm in Balasore, 3.6 mm in Cuttack, 3.5 mm in Dhenkanal, 2.7 mm in Mayurbhanj, 1.6 mm in Gajapati, 1.1 mm in Keonjhar and 0.6 mm in Kandhamal, said a communique issued by the Special Relief Commissioner.

At least 15 districts namely Angul, Bargarh, Bolangir, Boudh, Deogarh, Jharsuguda, Kalahandi, Koraput, Malkangiri, Nabarangpur, Nuapada, Rayagada, Sambalpur, Subarnapur and Sundargarh did not receive any rainfall.

Meanwhile, the Indian Meteorological Department said the low pressure over Bay of Bengal, situated nearly 565 kilometres away from Gopalpur, will develop into deep depression in the next 24 hours.

'Ganjam, Khurda, Cuttack, Puri, Nayagarh, Gajapati, Rayagada and Kandhamal districts are likely to face heavy rainfall under its influence till November 17,' the IMD said.

Naveen's emotional appeal to voters ahead of Bijepur by-poll

Bargarh: BJD President and Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik began his election campaign for by-poll to Bijepur assembly constituency on Tuesday.Ad...

Union Minister Smriti Irani campaigns in Bijepur

Bargarh: Tearing into the Naveen-led BJD government in Odisha, during her addressed at a public meeting during Bijepur by-poll campaign in the Gaisile...

Union Cabinet Approves Formation Of Mahanadi Tribunal

New Delhi: The Union Cabinet on Tuesday  approved for Tribunal under Inter-State River Dispute Act, 1956, for adjudication of dispute on Mahanadi...

Centre approves Jeypore-Malkangiri New Line project

New Delhi: The Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs, chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, has approved 130 Km long Jeypore-Malkangiri New Line pr...