Paddy MSP hike row: House panel to meet President now


Bhubaneswar: Odisha Assembly on Thursday passed a resolution that the Standing Committee on Paddy MSP led by Speaker Pradeep Kumar Amat would visit President Ramnath Kovind and urge him to direct the Union Government to hike minimum support price of paddy to Rs 2,930 at the earliest.

The resolution was passed through a voice vote amid levelling of charges and counter charges among the three political parties, the BJD, the Congress and the BJP. A total of 15 Members, including Agriculture and Farmers' Empowerment Minister Dr Damodar Rout, Leader of Opposition Narasingha Mishra and BJP Legislature Party Leader KV Singh Deo, participated in the discussion which lasted for about five hours.

More Articles