Bijepur by-poll: BJP moves CEO against Padmapur SDPO

Bhubaneswar: BJP today urged the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) here to take stringent action against Padmapur Sub-Divisional Police Officer (SDPO) Laxminarayan Panda for allegedly acting like a political agent of the ruling BJD in by-poll bound Bijepur Assembly constituency.

A delegation of the party led by its spokesperson Sajjan Sharma met the CEO and submitted a memorandum highlighting their grievances.

'The SDPO is harassing the BJP workers both physically and mentally in Bijepur. He was also terrorising people not to attend the public meetings being attended by the senior BJP leaders undemocratically,' the memorandum read.

'Hence, under such circumstances a free and fair by-election in Bijepur is not possible. We request you to kindly keep away the SDPO from election duty to maintain neutrality of election,' it added.

The party further alleged that police arrested two persons in connection with the seizure of Rs 40.50 lakh yesterday just to suppress the matter.

'Though police arrested two persons in connection with the seizure of the cash, but the mastermind behind it is yet to be traced,' the memorandum said.

Fodder Scam: Lalu's provisional bail extended till July 3

Ranchi : Former Bihar Chief Minister Lalu Prasad's provisional bail has been extended till July 3, in connection with multiple fodder scam cases.In ad...

Won't allow a repeat of 2014 in 2019: Shiv Sena

New Delhi : Shiv Sena on its 52 Anniversary tore into Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) government. Accusing its alliance ...

BJP is my party but Lalu is family: Shatrughan Sinha

Patna : Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Shatrughan Sinha stated that the BJP was his party but Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) supremo Lalu Prasad and ...

Grand alliance against BJP a sentiment of people: Rahul Gandhi

Mumbai : Congress president Rahul Gandhi termed the grand alliance of opposition parties against the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) as a mutual sentimen...