13 states give nod to Lodha Committee reforms, ready to usher in change

New Delhi: With the Lodha Committee reforms to be heard in Supreme Court on February 23, as many as 13 full-member units of the Board of Control of Cricket in India (BCCI) have given a written confirmation on their nod to implement the committee's proposed reforms.

In their letters to the association, the acting secretary of the board, Amitabh Choudhary, said that the state bodies have expressed their willingness to accept the change, but save three clauses, Provision of Cooling off, Constitution of the Apex Council and distribution of functions, and powers and responsibilities between Elected Office Bearers and the Professional appointees.

State associations like Maharashtra, Vidarbha, and Tripura have already implemented the Lodha reforms.

In an order passed by the Supreme Court on July 18, 2016, the court had accepted a majority of recommendations passed by the committee, but even after 19 months of the order, the matter is still on hold as a large section of the cricket board members refusing to move.

The next hearing will be held on February 23 and is expected to see half of the BCCI board members softened its stand. Choudhary, accordingly, will file an affidavit before the apex court.

Choudhary had given a prior information to his board regarding the acceptance of the 13 states. He said, 'Board of Control for Cricket in India, Lodha Group, Cricket, as many as thirteen full member units have already written indicating their above decision (implementation of the reforms) and more have also requested me to do the needful to bring their views to the notice of the Hon’ble Court. In keeping with the said request, I propose to file an affidavit before the Hon’ble Supreme Court apprising it of the views of the said members with regard to the implementation of the reforms.'

Sindhu enters quarters of All England Championship

Birmingham: Olympic silver medallist P V Sindhu progressed to the quarterfinals of the All England Championship with a hard-fought win over Thailand's...

Sindhu, Kidambi survive scare in All England Open Badminton Championships

Birmingham: Star shuttlers PV Sindhu and Kidambi Srikanth prevailed in tough first-round battles but Saina Nehwal exited from the prestigious All Engl...

Four Odia girls in Indian women's hockey squad for Commonwealth Games

Bhubaneswar: As many as four players from Odisha - Deep Grace Ekka, Namita Toppo, Sunita Lakra and Lilima Minz - have been included in the 18-member n...

Chennaiyin FC beat FC Goa 3-0 to face Bengaluru FC in ISL final

Chennai: Chennaiyin FC outplayed FC Goa 3-0 with a dominant performance in the second leg of the Indian Super League (ISL) semifinal to advance to the...