BJD to name 3 politicians as candidates for Rajya Sabha elections

Bhubaneswar: After returning from New Delhi, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and BJD supremo today clarified that his party will name three politicians as its candidates for the upcoming Rajya Sabha election in the state.

Speaking to media, Naveen said, 'The Rajya Sabha elections will have to be considered seriously and names of the candidates will be declared at the appropriate time'. Political people will go to the Rajya Sabha, he added.

Notably, the Election Commission of India (ECI) had announced that a notification for the election would be issued on March 5. While last date of filing nomination papers will be March 12, scrutiny of nomination papers will be done on March 13. The last date for withdrawal of nomination papers will be March 15, while polling and counting will be held on March 23.

The election to three Rajya Sabha seats is necessitated as tenure of AU Singhdeo, Dilip Tirkey and AV Swami would complete in April, 2018.

Cyclone Titli Mismanagement: Odisha Govt Behaving Like A 'Sahukar', Says Pradhan

Bhubaneswar: Continuing with his attack on CM Naveen Patnaik, Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan slammed Odisha government for not creating adequate aw...

Man found hanging on premises of Dharamgarh sub-collector's office

Bhawanipatna: Body of a man was found hanging on the premises of Dharmagarh sub-collector's office in Kalahandi district on Saturday morning.The decea...

Two minor girls meet watery grave in Kalahandi village

Bhawanipatna: In a tragic incident, two minor girls drowned while taking bath in a pond at Kesinga village in Kalahandi district today morning.Though ...

Car-bike head-on collision kills six in city outskirts

Bhubaneswar: In a tragic incident, at least six persons including a minor girl and three women were killed in a head-on collided between a motorcycle ...