4 Japanese basketball players axed from Asian Games

Jakarta : The Japan Olympic Committee (JOC) has banned its four basketball players from participating in the Asian Games following an alleged prostitute scandal.
The decision came after four players- Takuya Hashimoto, Keita Imamura, Takuma Sato, Yuya Nagyoshi- were spotted at the red light district of Jakarta in their official team jersey.
Describing the whole incident, one of JOC spokespersons confirmed that the committee has withdrawn the accreditation of the involved players and they have been deported back to Japan.
Speaking to, the spokesperson said, "After the Japanese team had a match with Qatar on August 16, some players went out of the athletes' village to have some Japanese food. Afterward, they had an opportunity to have some communication with some girls. Each of them went to a hotel and they had some affairs. They came back to athletes' village on August 17 at around 4 or 5 in the morning. So, the Japanese Olympic Committee has decided that they will not be allowed in the team as Japanese delegation."
"We have sent the athletes back to Japan, this morning. They are not in the team anymore," the spokesperson added.
The further course of action against the players will be decided by Japan Basketball Association, the spokesperson informed.
Japan had played their opening basketball match against Qatar on August 16 and will next take on Hong Kong in their group match on August 22. 

India vs Australia: Johnson offers to help Starc ahead of Perth Test

Mitchell Johnson has offered to help Mitchell Starc rediscover his rhythm ahead of the second Test against India in Perth, where the fast pitch can ha...

Kapil Dev in BCCI's panel to pick Women's coach

With the Cricket Advisory Committee deciding to stay away, the BCCI has formed an ad-hoc panel comprising of former India cricketers Shantha Rangaswam...

Virat Kohli, Anushka Sharma sacrifice business class seats for India pacers

Former England skipper Michael Vaughan has cautioned the Australian cricket team, revealing a secret detail of the Indian team which, he feels, might ...

Virat Kohli's reign at the top of the ICC rankings is in serious danger

Kane Williamson has become the first New Zealand batsman and 32nd overall to break the 900-point barrier in the ICC Player Rankings for Test Batsmen f...