Rahul Gandhi promises separate ministry for fishermen if Congress voted to power

Congress chief Rahul Gandhi Thursday vowed to set up a separate ministry for fishermen if the Congress is voted to power in the Lok Sabha elections, saying unlike Prime Minister Narendra Modi he did not make "fake promises".
He was addressing the National Fishermen Parliament organised by All India Fishermen Congress in Thriprayar near here."My commitment to you is that the moment we win the 2019 elections, all the fishermen of the country will get their own dedicated ministry in Delhi," Gandhi said. 

Assuring the fishermen that he would fulfil the promise if the Congress wins, the Congress chief said, "I am not like Narendra Modi. I don't make fake promises.""Please look at my speeches. When I say something, I only say it because I have decided to do it," he said. 
Meanwhile, the Election Commission will hold a day-long meeting with the central observers overseeing the upcoming Lok Sabha elections 2019 on Thursday.Chief Electoral Officers of states will not be part of the meeting, it said.Central observers are the officials from various services deputed by the EC across states to supervise and report on any conduct by the political parties and others which is in violation of the Model Code of Conduct.

Trinamool Congress to release its candidates' list for Lok Sabha polls today

West Bengal Chief Minister and Trinamool Congress supremo Mamata Banerjee said Monday that the candidates' list of her party for the Lok Sabha electio...

Hardik Patel, face of Patel reservation agitation, joins Congress today

Firebrand young Patidar leader Hardik Patel is all set to join the Congress party in presence of the top brass on Tuesday and is eyeing to the contest...

Ex-Odisha CM Hemanand Biswal's daughter Sunita joins BJD

Bhubaneswar: Congress leader & former Odisha CM Hemanand Biswal's daughter, Sunita Biswal quit deserted Congress and joined the ruling-Biju Janata...

Modi guilty of corruption in Rafale: Congress

New Delhi, March 6Accusing Prime Minister Narendra Modi of enriching Dassault Aviation at the cost of Indian exchequer by waiving bank guarantee in th...