BJP declares 11 candidates for Odisha polls

Bhubaneswar: The Central Election Committee of the Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) today announced 11 names for the ensuing General Elections in Odisha.In the list, the party has named former Balasore MP, Kharvel Swain and the former Odisha DGP Prakash Mishra, who joined the party yesterday, to contest from Kandhamal and Cuttack Parliamentary Constituencies respectively.

For the Assembly polls, the nine candidates are:

Dinesh Jain (Jharsuguda)Debendra Mohapatra (Rairakhol)Badrinarayan Dhal (Bhandaripokhari)Dr Pradip Nayak (Bhadrak)Debanarayan Pradhan (Phulbani)Samapad Swain (Paradeep)Narendra Nayak (Jaydev)Biswaranjan Badajena (Jatani)Rishabh Nanda (Begunia)

The Lok Sabha candidates are:
Kharvela Swain (Kandhamal)Prakash Mishra (Cuttack) 

Huge cache of brown sugar seized in Balasore, four held

Balasore: In a crackdown on the illegal trade of contraband, Balasore police last night seized a huge quantity of brown sugar during raids in various ...

Ailing female elephant dies while undergoing treatment

Mayurbhanj: An ailing female elephant which was undergoing treatment died at Dubighar forest in Podadiha section under Kaptipada range in Mayurbhnaj d...

Devotees throng Alarnath Temple as Anasara ritual begins

Puri: Thousands of devotees today thronged the Alarnath Temple near Brahmagiri in Puri district as the Holy Trinity of Lord Jagannath temple went into...

Odisha HC lawyers to boycott court of three judges till June 26

Cuttack: Lawyers of the Orissa High Court have decided to boycott the court of three judges till June 26 opposing recommendation of names of lawyers f...