Second phase polls in Odisha: 7 per cent voter turn out till 9 am

Bhubaneswar: Approximately 7 per cent voter turnout was recorded till 9 am in the five Lok Sabha and 35 Assembly seats in the second phase polls in Odisha on Thursday.This was informed by the Office of the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO), Odisha.

The polling started at 7 am in almost all the booths. However, there was a bit delay in a few polling booths due to technical issues in EVMs.Long queues of voters were seen at polling stations in the assembly constituencies under the five parliamentary constituencies.
A total of 76.93 lakh voters will exercise their franchise for Bargarh, Sundargarh, Balangir, Kandhamal and Aska Lok Sabha seats and 35 Assembly seats under these parliamentary constituencies spread across western and southern Odisha. 39.45 lakh male, 37.47 lakh female and 605 others will cast their votes at 9,117 booths.
While polling will be held in most of the booths till 6 pm, in several Naxal-hit areas it will close at 4 pm. 

Prashant Kishor to work for Mamata Banerjee's TMC

After losing its ground to the BJP in Lok Sabha election, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Thursday met renowned poll strategist Prashant...

Odisha's newly-elected MP Chandrani Murmu makes it to the cover of India Today

Bhubaneswar: Odisha's newly elected MP from Keonjhar Lok Sabha constituency Chandrani Murmu made it to the cover page of India Today with the tag'THE ...

Tripura Health Minister Sudip Roy Burman axed from ministry

The notification, available with IANS, said that Burman's Health and Family Welfare, Industry and Commerce (Information Technology), PWD (Drinking Wat...

Arun Jaitley, NDA's brain and troubleshooter, will be missed in NDA 2.0

As the prospective list of PM Modi Cabinet 2.0 comes out, many have pointed at the absence of a BJP heavyweight from the list. Union Minister Arun Jai...