People of India have decided: Rahul Gandhi accepts defeat

Congress chief Rahul Gandhi, staring at the face of defeat in his family bastion Amethi and in India, has humbly accepted defeat. In a televised press conference on Thursday evening, he said he did not want to discuss the possible reasons of the defeat because "the people of India have already decided".

"I franky do not want to get into what might have gone wrong. The people of India have already decided and that's it. I want to congratulate Modi jee and the Bharatiya Janata Party ," Rahul Gandhi said.In a stunning electoral showing, the BJP, led by PM Modi, was on Thursday set to retain power for another five years after making a sweep of the Lok Sabha battle and mauling the opposition.

So stunning was the BJP's showing that it bulldozed the opposition even where it had looked strong, virtually sweeping entire states in northern India and even beyond and making unprecedented inroads in Trinamool Congress-ruled West Bengal.To this end, Rahul Gandhi said, "To the sympathisers of Congress I just want to say 'don't lose heart and hope'. This is a fight of differing ideologies and we will continue the fight."Rahul Gandhi, at the time of filing this copy, was trailing by over 15,000 votes from Amethi against senior BJP leader Smriti Irani."I want to congratulate her; I hope she does well," Rahul said.Trends from the counting centres showed that the BJP alone was set to bag over 300 seats -- more than the 282 it won in 2014, catapulting Modi as the prime minister for the first time.

Along with its allies, the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) could end up with 343 of the 542 Lok Sabha seats where polling took place.Congratulations poured in for Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who was set to be re-elected by over 2.5 lakh votes from Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh. BJP President Amit Shah was on the road to victory with an equally thumping margin from Gandhinagar in Gujarat."Our win is India's victory," remarked Amit Shah, thanking the voters for supporting the BJP and its allies. 

The BJP was set to make a clean sweep of all 26 seats in Gujarat, all 25 in Congress-ruled Rajasthan, all four in Himachal Pradesh and all five in Uttarakhand.The BJP was also on the road to victory in 28 of the 29 seats in Madhya Pradesh, 9 out of 11 in Chhattisgarh, 38 out of the 40 seats in Bihar along with its allies, 10 out of 14 in Jharkhand, 9 out of 10 in Haryana, 23 out of 26 in Karnataka, its southern bastion, 41 out of 48 in Maharashtra along with the Shiv Sena, 19 out of 42 in West Bengal, 6 out of 21 seats in Odisha and all seven seats in Delhi.

The biggest prize came in Uttar Pradesh, India's politically most critical state where the saffron party overwhelmed the SP-BSP alliance, establishing solid leads in 60 out of 80 seats, leaving the opposition gasping.Sensex zoomed past 40,000 points -- a lifetime high -- as it became clear that Modi was set to retain power.The BJP's years of efforts in West Bengal finally bore fruits as its candidates were set to emerge victorious in 19 places, washing out the once formidable Left and leaving the Congress punctured. The BJP won only two seats in 2014. In Bihar, the BJP and the Janata Dal-United (JD-U) were on the top in 15 seats each, crushing the Grand Alliance led by the RJD.

Besides Modi and Amit Shah, the BJP leaders who were on the victory lap included Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh (Lucknow), Union Minister Giriraj Singh (Begusarai) and the aggressive Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur (Bhopal).The TRS, which had hoped to sweep Telangana, led in 11 seats while the YSR Congress Party made a sweep of Andhra Pradesh and was also set to take power in the state.

The Congress' best news came from Punjab where it was leading in 8 of the 13 seats and in Kerala where the party-led UDF had forged ahead in 15 of the 20 seats, dealing a major blow to the Left. And in Odisha, the BJD was on the top in 15 of the 21 seats and was also set to retain power in the state in Assembly elections.

In Tamil Nadu, the DMK-led alliance was set to win 23 of the 39 constituencies. And in Jammu and Kashmir, while former Chief Minister Farooq Abdullah of the National Conference was set to win, PDP leader and former Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti was trailing at the third spot in militancy-hit Anantnag.Around 67 per cent of the nearly 900 million voters exercised their franchise in the seven-phase elections that began on April 11 and ended on May 19. Election in Vellore in Tamil Nadu was countermanded by the Election Commission.

Former Finance Minister Arun Jaitley's condition very serious but stable Rajnath Singh, Smriti Irani, several ministers visit

Former FM Arun Jaitley continues to be on life support. The senior BJP leader was admitted to AIIMS on August 9, following complaints of breathlessnes...

Former FM Arun Jaitley critical At AIIMS

Former  FM Arun Jaitley has been put on life support system at the AIIMS in New Delhi. The 66-year-old leader, who was admitted at the hospit...

Heavy Rainfall leads To Waterlogging In Many Parts Of Kolkata

Kolkata : The heavy rainfall caused water-logging at several  places in Kolkata on Sunday. Vehicular traffic movement have also been  disr...

Telephone Lines to be Restored in Srinagar Tomorrow

New Delhi: In first steps towards normalcy in Jammu and Kashmir after 12 days of lockdown and communication blackout, Chief Secretary BVR Subrahmanyam...