Indian Women's Team Claims First International Rugby 15s Victory

The Indian women's rugby team claimed a historic first-ever international Rugby 15s victory with a 21-19 win over Singapore to finish third in the Asia Women's - Division 1 Rugby XVs Championship, Manila on Saturday, 22 June.The tournament was one of the qualifying rounds for the 2021 Women's Rugby World Cup to be held in New Zealand.

The Asian tournament was being held at Southern Plains Sports Field, Manila, from 19 to 22 June. One of the players in the team, Sweta Shahi was profiled as an achiever as a part of The Quint's "Me, the Change" campaign.On Saturday's enthralling match against Singapore, India's scrum-half Sumitra Nayak kicked a penalty to claim the narrow victory in the dying minutes.

Sweety Kumari continued her fine form in the tournament, scoring two first-half tries to set India on way to victory.India captain Vahbiz Bharucha then opted for a penalty which was successfully converted by Nayak before Annabel Woo Xui Ni scored her second try of the match to give Singapore the lead for the first time.Singapore hit back with two tries of their own, but a third from India left the scores at 15-12.

However with another penalty, Nayak confidently stepped up to kick her second successful effort of the day, which proved decisive in the win.China won the tournament with a 68-0 victory over hosts Philippines in a one-sided final.

Ganguly's selfie with Eden Gardens' crowd is sure to win you over!

Kolkata: Amidst the ongoing day-night Test between India and Bangladesh, BCCI president Sourav Ganguly on Friday did not waste the chance to get click...

Hasina, Mamta, Sachin greet teams before first day-night Test

Kolkata (West Bengal): Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamta Banerjee and Sachin Tendulkar greeted India and Bangl...

Kohli all set for 'historic' day-night Test against Bangladesh

New Delhi: India skipper Virat Kohli is all set for the 'historic' day- night Test match against Bangladesh. Kohli took to Twitter and wrote: "Go...

13th edition of I-League officially launched, to start from November 30

New Delhi: The 13th edition of the I-League was launched during a ceremony held here on Thursday. The league will have 11 teams and is slated to ...