IIMC to be upgraded into Communication University

New Delhi, Oct 21 (ANI): In a significant move, the Centre has decided to upgrade the Indian Institute of Mass Communication into 'Communication University'.

Union Information and Broadcasting Minister Prakash Javadekar said on Monday that the Indian Institute of Mass Communication (IIMC) would be upgraded into a ' Communication University'.

"Steps would be taken to initiate this process and a roadmap would be prepared soon by the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting," Javadekar said during the convocation ceremony and launch of golden jubilee celebrations at Indian Institute of Mass Communication ( IIMC) on Monday.

Inviting suggestions from the public, especially the young generation, Javadekar said, "A specific corner would be developed on I-B Ministry's website for these suggestions to be placed for the perusal of the Ministry."

The entire process was part of the communication vision of Prime Minister Narendra Modi that laid emphasis on 'Participative Communication'- a communication process which linked the key stakeholders including the media fraternity.

Exhorting the students who were conferred diplomas to avoid sensationalism at all costs and fight the menace of paid news, Javadekar said, "A young journalist ought to work with passion, compassion in a mission mode without commission."

He also called upon the students to balance information taking into account the sourcing of information from different media sources which included new and traditional media streams.

"These aspects would lay down the architectural framework for ethical journalism in the future," Javadekar added.

IIMC, headquartered in Delhi, is an autonomous society under the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting. It is one of the premier institutes for training, teaching and research in mass communication. It was set up by the Government of India in 1965 on the recommendation of a team of internationally known mass communication specialists from UNESCO and the Ford Foundation. The institute also has five Regional Centres in Aizawl (Mizoram), Amravati (Maharashtra), Dhenkanal (Odisha), Jammu and Kashmir and Kottyam (Kerala).