Now Bangalore becomes Bengaluru Officially


Bangalore, Nov 01: A year after the Union Home Ministry cleared the proposal by the Karnataka government, twelve cities of the state will be officially known with their Kannada names. With the latest development, the state capital Bangalore will officially be known as Bengaluru and and another town Mysore as Mysuru.

The decision was welcomed by several noted personalities as it came on the the 69th anniversary of the formation of the state of Karnataka.

Apart from Bangalore and Mysore, Mangalore will be known as Mangaluru, Belgaum as Belagavi, Gulbarga as Kalaburagi, Hubli as Hubballi, Shimago as Shivamogga, Chickmagalur as Chikkamagaluru, Bellary as Ballari, Bijapur as Vijapura, Hospet as Hosapete and Tumkur as Tumakuru.

More Articles