Congress forms Shadow Cabinet Panels ahead of Winter Session

New Delhi, Nov 07: Congress has formed several Shadow Cabinet committees along with Twitter handles as part of moves to play the opposition role in the House after the party was denied for the Leader of the Opposition status in Lok Sabha.

Seven Shadow Cabinet committees have been formed ahead of the Winter Session of Parliament beginning Nov 24 to keep a watch on decisions and policies of key ministries of the Narendra Modi government.

Former ministers, including A K Antony, M Veerappa Moily, Anand Sharma, Oscar Fernandes as also Congress leader in Lok Sabha Mallikarjun Kharge and leader of the opposition in Rajya Sabha, Ghulam Nabi Azad, are prominent members of these committees.

The panels will raise the questions on different issues relating to finance, foreign affairs, commerce and information and broadcasting, home, defence and law and justice departments.

Senior leaders Digvijaya Singh, Ashok Chavan and Ninong Erring will be part of the group which will focus on agriculture and drinking water and sanitation.

Kharge will look into the issues relating to railways and labour along with Fernandes and Ranjeeta Ranjan. The committee on HRD, panchayati raj and northeastern region has Mani Shankar Aiyar, Bhalchandra Mungekar and Sushmita Dev as members. The panel comprising K V Thomas, Jairam Ramesh and Gaurav Gogoi would look after rural development and environment issues.

It should be noted that Congress was pushed to just 44 seats in the Lok Sabha polls. However, several attempts were made by the party to get the Leader of the Opposition status in the lower house.

Protests, Booing Stall Parliament, No-Trust Moves Not Taken Up

New Delhi: The no-confidence motion against the government, pitched by Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu's Telugu Desam Party, was not t...

YSR Congress, TDP to pitch for no-trust notices in Lok Sabha Today

New Delhi: The YSR Congress and the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) are on Tuesday set to pitch for taking up their notices of no-confidence motion against t...

India Issues 12th Note Verbale to Pakistan on harassment of its diplomatic staff

New Delhi: India on Saturday gave a Note Verbale to Pakistan through its high commission in Islamabad protesting the "intimidation and harassment" of ...

'Dramebazi': Sonia Gandhi's Scathing Attack On PM Modi At Congress Event

New Delhi: Sonia Gandhi, the former Congress president today launched a blistering attack on the NDA government, saying people have now figured that P...