Dhoni to miss, Kohli to lead India in 1st Test vs Australia

Mumbai, Nov 10: Mahendra Singh Dhoni will miss the first Test against Australia due to his forearm injury. However, Virat Kohli will lead the first match starting in Brisbane from December 4.

Dhoni, who is injured, is missing the five-ODI series currently underway with Sri Lanka. He will take the rest for the first test. He is expected to be back from the second Test.

Karnataka opener KL Rahul, leg spinner Karn Sharma and wicket-keeper batsman, Naman Ojha are the uncapped players included in the Test squad for India's tour of Australia later this year.

The national selectors in Mumbai on Monday picked Team India for the four-Test series against Australia. Suresh Raina, who has also been included, last played a Test match during the 2012 New Zealand tour of India. Robin Uthappa is expected to make his Test debut after a stellar domestic season and good performances in the Indian Premier League.

The 19-man squad contains five pacers, three spinners and three wicket-keeper batsmen. Gautam Gambhir has been dropped from the squad after repeated failures at the international level despite having scored decently at the domestic level. Stuart Binny, Ishwar Chand Pandey and Pankaj Singh are the others to miss out from the squad that toured England.

Opener KL Rahul had impressed in the domestic circuit including twin tons in the recently concluded Duleep Trophy final. Karn Sharma, the rookie leg spinner, has been thrown in the deep sea as there were suggestions that a wrist spinner will have greater impact on the Australian pitches. Naman Ojha had a highly successful tour of Australia with the India A squad where he scored two hundreds. He had subsequently been drafted in as a back-up wicket-keeper for the last Test against England. Ojha has been included in the squad only for the first Test as a cover for Saha. He will return to India after Dhoni joins the squad.

Test Squad for Australia: MS Dhoni (c), Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Wriddhiman Saha, Naman Ojha, Ravi Ashwin, Karn Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Varun Aaron

Sindhu enters quarters of All England Championship

Birmingham: Olympic silver medallist P V Sindhu progressed to the quarterfinals of the All England Championship with a hard-fought win over Thailand's...

Sindhu, Kidambi survive scare in All England Open Badminton Championships

Birmingham: Star shuttlers PV Sindhu and Kidambi Srikanth prevailed in tough first-round battles but Saina Nehwal exited from the prestigious All Engl...

Four Odia girls in Indian women's hockey squad for Commonwealth Games

Bhubaneswar: As many as four players from Odisha - Deep Grace Ekka, Namita Toppo, Sunita Lakra and Lilima Minz - have been included in the 18-member n...

Chennaiyin FC beat FC Goa 3-0 to face Bengaluru FC in ISL final

Chennai: Chennaiyin FC outplayed FC Goa 3-0 with a dominant performance in the second leg of the Indian Super League (ISL) semifinal to advance to the...