BJP wins Trust Vote in Maharashtra Assembly, Sena opposes

Mumbai, Nov 12: Devendra Fadnavis-led BJP government won the trust vote in the Maharashtra Assembly by voice vote, sending a clear message to its estranged ally Shiv Sena that the saffron party does not need its support to rule the state.

While Shiv Sena and Congress voted against the BJP government, the NCP legislators, though present in the House, abstained from voting. Lone MNS candidate from Pune backed BJP in trust vote.

Meanwhile, BJP legislator Haribhau Bagde was elected unopposed as Speaker and Shiv Sena's Eknath Shinde is the Leader of Opposition in the Maharashtra Assembly.

However, Sena attacked the BJP after confidence motion alleging, the government betrayed the mandate. Sena and the Congress MLAs asked for a division, but the demand was overruled by speaker Haribhau Bagde, who declared the ruling party BJP winner in the crucial test on the floor.

Reacting bitterly to the controversial voting, Sena chief Uddhav Thakrey said that his party would not allow the house to function if their demand for a new confidence motion is not met. He said that his MLAs will go to the Governor seeking an action against the new government.

The Congress also questioned the legitimacy of the trust vote  with former chief minister Prithviraj Chavan saying the party will approach the governor requesting that the Fadnavis government should be asked to prove its majority by a proper division of votes.

"This is the darkest day in the history of the Maharashtra assembly. We will not allow the house to function under this minority government," Chavan said.

Office of profit case: EC fixes date for hearing final arguments

New Delhi : The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Tuesday fixed July 23 for hearing the final arguments in the matter of disqualification of 20 Aa...

Rs 163cr cash, 100 kg gold biscuits seized in TN

New Delhi : The Income Tax (IT) department on Monday stated to have seized Rs. 163-crore in cash and about 100-kg gold bars following raids at multipl...

Mayawati removes BSP leader from post for Rahul Gandhi comment

New Delhi : Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) supremo Mayawati has removed party vice-chairperson and national coordinator Jaiprakash Singh after he called Co...

High wholesale vegetable prices leave common man burdened

Chandigarh : The common man is bearing the brunt of the increased wholesale prices of vegetables in India.India's wholesale inflation grew 5.77 percen...