E-Visa Facility launched for 43 Nations


New Delhi, Nov 27: The Centre launched the much-awaited electronic visa facility on Thursday with an aim to boost tourism sector offering hassle-free travel to foreign nationals. With its launch the visitors from 43 countries can apply for Indian visa in four simple steps.

The e-visa was rolled out by Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh along with Tourism Minister Mahesh Sharma here. Tourists from countries like Brazil, Cambodia, Kenya, Oman, Singapore, Norway, Thailand, Germany, the US, Israel and Palestine among others can avail this facility.
While launching the facility, Rajnath Singh said, "India has a unique advantage in tourism sector owing to its geographical location and that no other country offers such abundance of diversity in weather conditions.

This visa will allow entry of the tourists into India within 30 days from the date of approval of ETA and will be valid for 30 days stay in India from the date of arrival in India.

This would become operational at nine international airports - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata, Hyderabad, Bengaluru, Kochi, Thiruvananthapuram and Goa.

In order to get an e-visa, a foreign tourist would need to apply on the designated website along with the required fees. They would be granted an electronic version of the visa within 96 hours.

As per the government decision, all countries, except a few in the "prior list", would be brought into the e-visa regime over the next two years.

Barring a few like Pakistan, Sudan, Afghanistan, Iran, Iraq, Nigeria, Sri Lanka and Somalia, all the countries will be covered under the e-visa regime in phases, the official said.

More Articles