1979-Batch IPS Anil Sinha appointed CBI Director

New Delh, Dec 03: In a huge disappointment to IPS officer from Odisha Prakash Mishra, who was in the race for CBI director, Prime Minister Narednra Modi gave a final nod to Anil Kumar Sinha, a Bihar-cadre 1979-batch IPS officer, for the top post in the central agency.

Anil Sinha was appointed after a panel comprising Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Chief Justice of India H L Dattu and leader of the single largest opposition party in the Lok Sabha Mallikarjun Kharge held a meeting at 7 Race Course Road on Tuesday evening.

The appointment came a day after the tenure of Ranjit Sinha ended as the CBI Director. 

Anil Sinha was earlier posted as CBI Special Director in May 2013. "The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet has approved the appointment of Shri Anil Kumar Sinha, IPS (BH; 1979) as Director, CBI, for a period of two years from the date of assumption of charge of the post," said a statement issued by the Department of Personnel and Training.

Prior to join CBI, he served as Additional Secretary, Central Vigilance Commission, in New Delhi. He earlier held several important positions in Bihar in vigilance and anti-corruption, administration, special branch and other divisions.

He served as Additional Director General of Police, Law & Order, and later as Additional DG heading the Vigilance Investigation Bureau in Bihar. He was involved in investigating a number of sensitive cases, including a large number of disproportionate assets cases against public servants. Sinha has also served as DIG and IG in the SPG.

A post-graduate in Psychology and M.Phil in Strategic Studies, he received the Police Medal for Meritorious Service in 2000 and the President's Police Medal for Distinguished Service in 2006.

Among the names doing rounds for the top post were director general of Rajasthan police Omendra Bharadwaj and special secretary in home ministry Prakash Mishra. They are 1977-batch IPS officers from Rajasthan and Odisha, respectively. K.S. Balasubramaniam, a 1978-batch IPS officer and at present chief of Kerala police, was also reported to be in the race for the post.

CJI Deepak Misra to hear PIL on CBI judge BH Loya's death

New Delhi: three-bench judge headed by Chief Justice of India (CJI) Deepak Misra along with Justice A M Khanwilkar and D Y Chandrachud has fixed the n...

'In the End, Truth Prevails': Arvind Kejriwal On Office Of Profit Crisis

New Delhi: The Delhi High Court refused to grant interim relief to 20 Aam Aadmi Party legislators, whose names were recommended by the Election Commis...

EC recommends 20 AAP MLAs be disqualified

New Delhi: In a massive blow to Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, the Election Commission on Friday has recommended to the President to disqualify...

BSF head constable among 3 killed in ceasefire violation by Pak in J&K

New Delhi: Three civilians were killed and three injured in heavy shelling by the Pakistan Army along the Line of Control (LoC) in Jammu and Kashmir's...