Raghubar Das Chosen as New CM of Jharkhand


Ranchi, Dec 26: Putting all the speculations to rest, finally BJP leader Raghubar Das was chosen as the new chief minister of Jharkhand. He is the first non-tribal to hold the top post in the state.

His name was finalised after the BJP legislature party meeting on Friday. All the members elected him as the party's new leader to form the government in Jharkhand after the party was given a mandate in the recent assembly polls.

It is the first time that a non-tribal has been chosen for the CM post in Jharkhand, which has seen chief ministers only from the tribal community.

The BJP itself had two tribal chief ministers in the past - Babulal Marandi (once) and Arjun Munda (thrice).

JMM leaders Shibu Soren (thrice), Hemant Soren (once) and Madhu Koda (once) are the other tribal leaders who had been the chief ministers since the creation of Jharkhand 14 years ago.

The BJP's legislature party meeting began at around 11 am today.

Apart from the two observers - BJP observers JP Nadda and Vinay Sahastrabuddhe - BJP's in-charge for Jharkhand Trivendra Singh Rawat, state unit president Ravindra Rai and former chief minister Arjun Munda attended the meeting.

Another frontrunner for the post of chief minister was Saryu Roy.

The BJP/AJSU alliance got a majority, winning 42 out of 81 MLAs in the just concluded Assembly Elections.

More Articles