Jatni Municipality Chief, 7 Councilors join BJP in Odisha


Bhubaneswar, Jan 03: Ahead of BJP president Amit Shah's two-day visit to Odisha, Jatni Municipality chairperson Sangram Keshari Routray along with seven of his councilors and 40 supporters joined the saffron party today. This is a big development in the party after the membership drive was launched in the state. 

They all were independent candidates and decided to join the national party at a formal induction ceremony here at the party office on Saturday. The councilors who joined the BJP are Chinmayee Samantara, Annapurna Das, Rahima Bibi, Soumendra Kumar Patnaik, Biranchi Narayan Sethi, Susant Sahoo and Santosh Sahoo.

Apart from them, one Congress leader and two former army personnel, Rtd Colonel RK Patnaik and Rtd Lt Colonel Jayaram Tripathy also joined the BJP today at the event. The Congress leader Anupama Dehury is a councilor from Jatni Municipality.

It can be noted that Jatni civic body Chief Sangram Keshari Routray had earlier sought a ticket from Congress for Jatni seat. However, he was denied. He is the nephew of Suresh Routray, senior Congress leader.

The state unit BJP president KV Singhdeo welcomed Routray, his team and his supporters into the party. He said that interest is seen among people from other parties to join the BJP as they are inspired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

More Articles