Arvind Panagariya appointed as NITI Aayog Vice-Chairman


New Delhi, Jan 05: The central government on Monday appointed veteran economist Arvind Panagariya as the Vice-Chairman of the NITI Aayog, which replaced the 65-year-old Planning Commission of India (Yojna Aayog).

According to a release from the Prime Ministers Office today, besides Panagariya, nine others members were appointed to the NITI Aayog.

While Economist Bibek Debroy and former defence secretary VK Saraswat will take charge as full-time members, Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, Railway Minister Suresh Prabhu and Minister of Agriculture Radha Mohan Singh will function as ex-officio members.

Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari, Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment Thawar Chand Gehlot and Minister of Human Resource Development Smriti Irani will be part of the NITI Aayog as Special Invitees.

More Articles