Odisha Govt forms 5-Member Team to study Legislative Council for State

Bhubaneswar, Jan 07: Amidst sharp criticism and debates, Odisha government on Wednesday announced the five-member committee to submit a report on the proposed formation of Legislative Council.

The panel will submit the report by the end of this month after studying the functioning of legislative councils in other states. This was informed by Parliamentary Affairs Minister Bikram Keshari Arukh.

The team will comprise of 3 members from BJD, one each from Congress and BJP.

While BJD members Nrishinga Sahoo, Pramila Mallick, Manohar Randhari have been named as the panel members, Bhujbal Majhi will be from Congress and Nitesh Gangdev has been named from the BJP.

IAF plane crashes in Mayurbhanj

Baripada: An Indian Air Force (IAF) plane crashed Tuesday in Odisha's Mayurbhanj district near the Jharhkhand border.The pilot of the IAF plane is rep...

Bihar Governor given additional charge of Odisha

Bhubaneswar: President Ram Nath Kovind has directed Bihar Governor Satya Pal Malik to discharge functions of Governor of Odisha, in addition to his ow...

Odisha celebrates Pakhala Divas to welcome summers

Bhubaneswar: Denizens of Bhubaneswar savoured Pakhala, a traditional Odia dish, on Tuesday in order to welcome the summers. Pertinently, March 20 is b...

Congress boycotts Guv speech, stages walk out in Assembly

Bhubaneswar: Governor Dr SC Jamir today made his address to the State Assembly on the last day of his tenure even as the main opposition Congress walk...