After BJP, Cong rejects 5-Member Committee to study Legislative Council

Bhubaneswar, Jan 10: After BJP, Congress also refused to be part of the five-member committee formed by the Odisha government to study the functioning of legislative councils in other states.

Talking to media, Odisha PCC chief Prasad Harichandan announced in the evening yesterday that the party was not consulted in this matter of formation of the legislative council nor the team.

He described the government decision as "arbitrary". He suggested that the government can bring an official resolution in the Assembly and this has to be a unanimous one. For the unanimous resolution, the matter needs to be discussed with all the legislative parties in the Assembly.

However, neither the government nor chief minister Naveen Patnaik has discussed the issue with the legislative party leader, who is also the Leader of Opposition in the House, Harichandan alleged.

He said that the government should have consulted all the parties before taking the decision. According to him, the government took the decision on its own and formed a committee and selected the members. No party has been taken into confidence and nor the matter was discussed with any legislative party.

"According to the rules of the Assembly, only the Speaker has the power to nominate members. How could the government appoint members without asking us? Our member only knew after he was appointed. Nobody had taken his opinion before appointing him. Before appointing someone from the Congress party, is not desirable to consult the leader of that party in the Assembly?" asked the PCC chief.

Prior to his decision, BJP legislature party leader in the state Assembly Basant Panda had announced in the afternoon that his party will not join the panel formed by the government.

It should be noted that the government has formed a 5-member panel to study the functioning of legislative councils in other states. While Nrusingha Sahu, Pramila Mallick and Manohar Randhari from the ruling BJD were nominated as the committee members, Bhujbal Majhi and Nitesh Gangdev were named from Congress and BJP respectively.

Odisha BJP to 'chargesheet' BJD Govt over 36 corruption cases, releases booklet

Bhubaneswar: Ahead of Prime Minister Narendra Modi's visit to State, the Odisha BJP has decided to reach out to people with a list of allegations agai...

Announce Special package for Odisha before visit: PCC chief urges PM

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) president Niranjan Patnaik on Monday demanded that Prime Minister Narendra Modi announce a speci...

5 Killed In Lightning, Warning For 22 Districts Till May 26

Bhubaneswar: At least five persons, including two minor boys were killed in separate incidents of lightning in the State during the past 24 hours. Amo...

March 2020 Deadline For Bolangir LPG Bottling Plant: Pradhan

Bolangir: Taking a step towards fulfilling Prime Minister Narendra Modi's vision of 'Purvodaya' (A prosperous East for a New India), Union Minister Dh...