Convoy Attack of Naveen: Two Cops Suspended

Bhubaneswar, Feb 20: Two senior police personnel were suspended for neglecting their duty that resulted in the security breach of Odisha chief minister Naveen Patnaik during his way to Utkal University yesterday.

Twin city Police Commissioner Dr RP Sharma said that the Assistant Commissioner of Police (ACP) SK Sarifuddin and Assistant Sub-Inspector (ASI) of Kharvela Nagar police station PK Sahu have been suspended from their job today.

Their suspension was decided at a high level meeting chaired by DGP Sanjiv Marik, who was reviewing the security breach of the CM for which his convoy was targeted by the Youth Congress workers yesterday.

The action was taken against two officers, who were responsible to check the security in Kharavel Nagar zone where CM's convoy was passing to the Utkal University. The protesters pelted eggs and showed black flags and his convoy was stopped for a while near Keshari talkies. The protest scene was controlled by the police later on with mild lathicharge on the agitators.

For the security lapse, the DGP had held responsible the Commissionerate police. He said that the negligence of some police personnel on duty led to this situation.

Even Dr Sharma had also admitted that it was partially intelligence failure and the police had no information about the protest and Congress plan.

Villager trampled to death in Sambalpur

Sambalpur : In another incident of man-animal conflict, a villager was trampled to death by an elephant at Padiabahal in Sambalpur district early...

Phulnakhara-Niali road blocked by Sarpanch, supporters

Bhubaneswar: The traffic on Phulnakhara- Niali state highway was disrupted as local Sarpanch and his supporters blocked the road at Kuranga Sasana dem...

Odisha Reels Under Intense Heat Wave As Monsoon Remains Stagnant

Bhubaneswar: Intense heat wave condition in the past 48 hours has thrown life out of gear across Odisha with mercury breaching the 40 degree Celsius m...

Chilika Boat Capsize: All 6 Missing Bodies Fished Out; CM Announces Rs 4L Ex-Gratia

Khurda/Ganjam: The toll in the boat capsize incident in Chilika Lake which took place Saturday evening has risen to six with recovery of the bodies of...