A Look at ICC World Cup 2015 Quarter-Finalists

New Delhi, March 16: ICC World Cup 2015 saw the last league match on 15th March between West Indies and UAE and Pakistan and Ireland which confirmed the eight quarter-finalists, who would compete to reach the last four.

After the league match, India finished on top of Pool B, followed by South Africa, Pakistan and West Indies. Pool A has New Zealand on top position, followed by former champions Australia, 1996 champions Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.

The first quarter-final in Sydney on 18th March will see Sri Lanka fight it out against AB de Villiers' led South Africa. Meanwhile, the second quarter-finals will see Asian giant and defending champions India take on high on spirit Bangladesh on 19th March in Melbourne.

Four-time world champions Australia will take on 1992 champion Pakistan at the Adelaide Oval on 20th March. And the last quarters will see Pool A topper New Zealand play West Indies on 21st March at the Wellington Regional Stadium.

The two semi-finals would be played on 24th and 26th March at the Eden Park in Auckland and at the historic Sydney Cricket Ground.

The first semi-final would be played between the winners of New Zealand vs West Indies match and Sri Lanka vs South Africa.

Similarly, the second semis might get to see India once again taking on Pakistan, if Pakistan defeats Australia and India defeats Bangladesh.

Meanwhile, a reserve day has been scheduled for each of the seven knock-out matches.

However, if the quarter-final or semi-final is tied, abandoned or if the match is a no-result match, then the team  which finishes in the higher position in the Pool stage shall progress.


I was not patient with my tennis expectations: Djokovic

London : Serbian tennis player Novak Djokovic, who recently clinched his fourth Wimbledon title after defeating South Africa's Kevin Anderson 6-2 6-2 ...

CPL 2018: Shoaib Malik to captain Guyana Amazon Warriors

Barbados : Former Pakistan skipper Shoaib Malik has been named as the captain of the overseas T20 franchise Guyana Amazon Warriors for the upcoming Ca...

ISL: Cesar Ferrando appointed Jamshedpur FC head coach

Jamshedpur : Jamshedpur Football Club has appointed former Athletico Madrid manager Cesar Ferrando as the new head coach of the team ahead of the upco...

India reach final of Archery World

Berlin : Indian women compound team reached the final of the Archery World Cup stage four here on Thursday.The team comprising Trisha Deb, Jyothi Sure...