PM Modi greets Odisha People on Utkal Diwas

New Delhi, April 01: Prime Minister Narendra Modi greeted people of Odisha on the occasion of Utkal Diwas wishing progress and development for the state.

Taking to Twitter, Modi wrote, "Wishing my sisters and brothers of Odisha on Utkala Dibasa. My best wishes for Odisha's progress".

Odisha was formed as a separate state on this day in the year 1936 during British rule. The contributions of the legendaries - Gopabandhu Dash, Madhusudan Das, Fakir Mohan Senapati, Gangaddar Meher, Maharaja Krushna Chandra Gajapati, Pandit Nilakantha Dash, Radhanath Ray, Bhubanananda Das - were incomparable and under their leadership the movement was carried out to have status as a separate province for Odisha.

The newly formed Odisha had six districts - Cuttack, Puri, Balasore, Sambalpur, Koraput and Ganjam. Cuttack was capital of the state. 

Sonia Gandhi unwell, rushed to Delhi from Shimla

Shimla: Former Congress President Sonia Gandhi was on Friday rushed back to Delhi after she complained of restlessness late on Thursday night. Senior ...

Anna Hazare To Start Indefinite Hunger Strike For Lokpal Today

New Delhi: Social activist Anna Hazare is set to go on an indefinite hunger strike against the Centre in Delhi today, nearly seven years after his ant...

BrahMos, Supersonic Cruise Missile, Successfully Flight Tested From Pokhran

New Delhi: The BrahMos supersonic cruise missile was successfully flight tested from Rajasthan's Pokhran test range this morning. Defence Minister Nir...

2 Army personnel, as many policemen killed as Kupwara encounter continues

Srinagar: Four security forces personnel, including two Army jawans, were today killed in an ongoing encounter in the dense forests of the frontier di...