Polling Underway for 8 ULBs in Odisha


Bhubaneswar, April 07: The polling for eight Urban Local Bodies (ULBs) underway in Odisha. This began this morning at 8 am for Paradip, Sunabeda, Belpahar (Municipalities) and Redhakhol, Tusra, Dharmagarh, Daspalla and Balimela Notified Area Councils (NACs). 

The voting would continue till 5 pm. Around 1,50,186 voters are expected to vote today. A total of 469 candidates from BJD, BJP, Congress and Independent are contesting the polls in 129 wards. Their fate would be locked today in the electronic voting machines (EVMs).

Due to summer, long queue of voters were seen at the polling booths at 183 booths in the morning. 

Adequate security forces have been deployed at all the booths including sensitive and highly sensitive for the smooth conduct of the polling.

More Articles