Huge Victory for BJD in Odisha ULB Polls

Bhubaneswar, April 08: Once again the popularity of Odisha chief minister Naveen Patnaik dominated the local polls. As per the results declared, the ruling BJD got the majority in all the 8 ULBs - Daspalla, Dharmagarh, Balimela, Tusra, and Redhakhol Notified Area Councils (NAC) and three municipalities in Paradip, Belpahar and Sunabeda.

In many wards, the Congress and BJP could not open the account. Maximum seats went to the BJD that showed that the ruling party has won the trust of the voters. Out of the total 129 wards, the BJD won 103 seats; Congress got 11 seats and BJP 12 seats. The Independent won three seats.

Here are the final results of the 8 ULB Polls:

Daspalla NAC (16): BJD-13, Cong-0, BJP-1, Ind-2
Dharmagarh NAC (14): BJD-13, Cong-1, BJP-0, Ind-0
Tusra NAC (11): BJD-8, Cong-0, BJP-2 and Ind-1
Redhakhol NAC (13): BJD-12, Cong-0, BJP-1, Ind-0
Balimela NAC (12): BJD-7, Cong-2, BJP-3, Ind-0
Paradip Municipality (19): BJD-16, Cong-2, BJP-1, Ind-0
Belpahar Municipality (19): BJD-16, Cong-1, BJP-2, Ind-0
Sunabeda Municipality (25): BJD-18, Cong-5, BJP-2, Ind-0

DGP takes stock of railway safety measures

Bhubaneswar: A meeting on safety of rail passengers especially in Maoist-hit areas of Odisha was held at the DGP camp office here. Director General of...

Sujata Mohapatra Selected For Sangeet Natak Akademi Award

Bhubaneswar: Noted Odissi dancer Sujata Mohapatra has been selected for the coveted Sangeet Natak Akademi award (Academy Puraskar) 2017 for her outsta...

Salia Sahi residents protest drain work delay, block road

Bhubaneswar: Women residents have blocked the road at the Salia Sahi slum protesting delay in completion of the ongoing drain work in the slum.The dra...

Fire engulfs 30 houses in Kendrapada village

Kendrapada : Properties worth lakhs of rupees were burnt to ashes as a major fire engulfed 30 houses at Nalapokhari village under Rajkanika block in K...