New Zealand thrash Indian eves in opening T20 Int'l

Bangalore, July 11: The Indian women's cricket team was hammered on all fronts as New Zealand romped to a dominating eight-wicket triumph in their first Twenty20 International here today.

Put in to bat after New Zealand won the toss, the Indian eves were sent packing for 125 runs in 19.5 overs before New Zealand overhauled the target in 12.3 overs, losing just two wickets in the process.

For India, skipper Mithali Raj top-scored with a 23-ball 35 but none of her teammates managed to come good against a disciplined Kiwi bowling effort.

Pacers Morna Neilsen and Kate Broadmore shared six wickets between them, while off-spinner Leigh Kasperek grabbed two to demolish the Indian batting.

In fact, reduced to 85/7 in 13 overs, the Indians would have struggled to go past the 100-mark had it not been for small contributions from Sneh Rana (16) and Sushma Verma (12) lower down the order.

In response, the Kiwis hardly broke a sweat and romped home, scoring at a rate of more than 10.

Skipper Sophie Devine led from the front with a blazing 22-ball 70, which included five fours and eight sixes. Amy Satterthwaite added a 35-ball 39 to ensure a smooth chase for New Zealand.

The next match between the two sides will be played here on July 13.

India: 125 in 19.5 overs (Mithali Raj 35, Kate Broadmore 3/16)

New Zealand: 126/2 in 12.3 overs (Sophie Devine 70, Jhulan Goswami 1/19)

Sindhu enters quarters of All England Championship

Birmingham: Olympic silver medallist P V Sindhu progressed to the quarterfinals of the All England Championship with a hard-fought win over Thailand's...

Sindhu, Kidambi survive scare in All England Open Badminton Championships

Birmingham: Star shuttlers PV Sindhu and Kidambi Srikanth prevailed in tough first-round battles but Saina Nehwal exited from the prestigious All Engl...

Four Odia girls in Indian women's hockey squad for Commonwealth Games

Bhubaneswar: As many as four players from Odisha - Deep Grace Ekka, Namita Toppo, Sunita Lakra and Lilima Minz - have been included in the 18-member n...

Chennaiyin FC beat FC Goa 3-0 to face Bengaluru FC in ISL final

Chennai: Chennaiyin FC outplayed FC Goa 3-0 with a dominant performance in the second leg of the Indian Super League (ISL) semifinal to advance to the...