11.23 percent in first two hours of voting


Patna, November 5: Over 11 per cent turnout was recorded in the first two hours of voting in 57 Assembly constituencies spread over nine districts in the final phase of polling in east-Indian state Bihar.

Polling was peaceful during this period but there have been reports of malfunctioning of EVMs from various districts like Kishanganj, Darbhanga, Madhubani where voting began a little late

"Around 11.23 per cent turnout has been reported from 57 Assembly constituencies going to polls in the fifth and final phase of elections. Polling is peaceful as we have not received information of any untoward incident so far," Additional Chief 

Electoral Officer (ACEO) R Lakshmanan said.Madhubani recorded 10.08 per cent of voting, Supual 14.25 per cent, Araria 8.77, Kisanganj 10.62 per cent, Purnea 12.36 per cent, Katihar 9.50 per cent, Madhepura 13.48 per cent, Saharsa 7.18, and Darbhanga 14 per cent.

Supaul district recorded a maximum turnout of 14.25 per cent while Saharsa recorded the lowest turnout of 7.18 per cent till 9 AM.

More than five (5.58) per cent turnout was recorded in the first one hour of polling in these districts.

Voting began at 7 AM amid tight security in 57 constituencies of nine districts.

Prominent personalities who cast their vote in first two hours included BJP national spokesman Shahnawaz Hussain and JD(U) national president Sharad Yadav.

More Articles