Sachin Tendulkar to team up with Brian Lara for Cricket All-Stars


New delhi,November 6: Two batting legends will get an opportunity to play along with each other as Brian Lara was drawn in "Sachin's Blasters" 15-man squad for the Cricket All-Stars series that will begin on Saturday.

Sachin Tendulkar and Brian Lara, two of the finest batsmen of their generation will take to the field in the opening game at Citi Field along with Indian batting legends Virender Sehwag, Sourav Ganguly and VVS Laxman after a random draw was conducted on Thursday in Times Square.

The first 26 players were drawn by lots, whereas Shoaib Akhtar's fate was decided by the flip of a coin. Shane Warne called heads, but the Pakistani pacer, who had earlier expressed his desire to play for Sachin's team, got his wish as the coin came down as tails.

"We're going to go out there and play as hard as we possibly can, and we're going to win. Simple as that," said Warne after the draw. Warne also said the response to the tournament from the US public "had been overwhelming" and if all goes well, it could become an annual event.

He batted aside suggestions that the rules of cricket were too complicated for Americans to follow."When you take two minutes to concentrate on it, it'[s actually very simple," he said. "We're trying to hit the stumps and they're trying to hit it out of the park. It's not that hard."

The ICC sanctioned matches will be played on drop in pitches at major baseball fields in New York, Houston and Los Angeles.

The first All-Stars match will be played on November 7 at Citi Field, the home of the NY Mets while the second and third T20 will take place at Houston and Los Angeles on November 11 and 14.

Sachin's Blasters: Sachin Tendulkar (c), VVS Laxman, Sourav Ganguly, Virender Sehwag, Brian Lara, Mahela Jayawardene, Carl Hooper, Lance Klusener, Shaun Pollock, Moin Khan, Graeme Swann, Glenn McGrath, Muttiah Muralitharan, Shoaib Akhtar, Curtly Ambrose

Warne's Warriors: Shane Warne (c), Matthew Hayden, Ricky Ponting, Michael Vaughan, Jacques Kallis, Kumar Sangakkara, Andrew Symonds, Jonty Rhodes, Saqlain Mushtaq, Wasim Akram, Daniel Vettori, Courtney Walsh, Allan Donald, Ajit Agarkar

More Articles