456 crore to be spent on 9 cities of Odisha under AMRUT

Bhubaneswar,November 18: The Centre has sanctioned Rs 456 crore for development of basic infrastructures of nine cities in Odisha under the Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT) scheme for 2015-16.

For development of drainage system in religious town Puri, a total of Rs 15 crore will be spent.

Besides, infrastructure development of 81 water systems and sewerage systems will be done under the scheme.

The AMRUT scheme will cover Bhubaneswar, Cuttack, Puri, Berhampur, Sambalpur, Rourkela, Bhadrak, Balasore and Baripada.

The Union Urban Development Ministry said the fund will be spent on the nine cities this financial year under the AMRUT scheme.

The Ministry added cities of five states Odisha, Tamil Nadu, Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram and Jharkhand are included under the AMRUT and Rs 5,748 crore has been allocated for this.

IAF plane crashes in Mayurbhanj

Baripada: An Indian Air Force (IAF) plane crashed Tuesday in Odisha's Mayurbhanj district near the Jharhkhand border.The pilot of the IAF plane is rep...

Bihar Governor given additional charge of Odisha

Bhubaneswar: President Ram Nath Kovind has directed Bihar Governor Satya Pal Malik to discharge functions of Governor of Odisha, in addition to his ow...

Odisha celebrates Pakhala Divas to welcome summers

Bhubaneswar: Denizens of Bhubaneswar savoured Pakhala, a traditional Odia dish, on Tuesday in order to welcome the summers. Pertinently, March 20 is b...

Congress boycotts Guv speech, stages walk out in Assembly

Bhubaneswar: Governor Dr SC Jamir today made his address to the State Assembly on the last day of his tenure even as the main opposition Congress walk...